Overall Rating2.842.842.842.842.84
Features3.533.533.533.533.53
Support2.472.472.472.472.47
Price3.473.473.473.473.47
Visit Provider

moonfruitlogo Moonfruit Review

Since launching in 1999 over 2million websites have been built using the Moonfruit Sitemaker system. Whilst they give you lots of templates to spark your imagination, you can start from a blank canvas. Sitemaker lets you build a truly beautiful website, which is why so many love it. Packages start from free.

  • Print this article!
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • del.icio.us
  • FriendFeed
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • RSS

24 Customer Reviews of “Moonfruit Review”

Moonfruit Review Review by Natasha, July 7, 2009

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333

I Really Love Moonfruit. It’s affordable and really easy to use! Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed!

Moonfruit Review Review by Sarah McBride, July 14, 2009

  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 22222
  • 33333

Gotta love Moonfruit! I remember them advertising on TV back in 1999 – a bloke playing basket ball I think. I tried building a website with them back then and it was totally amazing! Then I forgot about it for years and just recently came back to them. And hey presto they’re still doing it all. You can get a free package which I like! I am on Max now which is still pretty good value

Moonfruit Review Review by Gary Hentol, July 31, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I honestly urge anyone to just have a go at building a website witih Moonfruit. Its easy easy easy. I am a complete beginner but I reckon my site looks very good. Its free as well, which means you can get used to using it without it costing you at the same time. If you want to put lots of photos on you’ll need to go for one of the paid packages tho’

Moonfruit Review Review by Grace Belamy, July 31, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

OK do not expect me to be impartial on this because I totally love Moonfruit. Its like using a free form design program on your desktop. Some of my mates swear by Dreamweaver etc but I reckon you get better results from Moonfruit. OK its not good for databases and all that but you can’t have everything! And that’s all boring stuff anyway.

Moonfruit Review Review by Marin Banff, July 31, 2009

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 55555

Very good, easy to use. I built a website no problem and now I can use it to update Facebook and Twitter. And it starts out being free which is great! Join the Moonfruit revolution.

Moonfruit Review Review by Wayne D, August 12, 2009

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 44444

They say on their website that its beautiful websites and that is about right! I used one of the tempates called ‘clean I think’, anyway straight out the box it looked better. I added photos no problem, and now I’ve got a forum on there, all very easy. Upgraded to my own domain. Free email (webmail).

Moonfruit Review Review by Gavin Man, September 30, 2009

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

Built a free website with Moonfruit and it looks pretty good. The system is very easy to use, and even someone like me can make a good site! I’m just using a template at the moment but I might try something that’s completely off the wall. Got to work out the domain stuff but I can do that with Moonfruit too.

Moonfruit Review Review by Easyproblinds, April 26, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

I have recently become a moonfruit expert (yes, it didn’t take long) where I set up http://www.Easyproblinds.com selling roman blind kits and how to make roman blinds tutorials. I receive orders almost everyday now as it becomes more and more popular. I get email forwarding, and traffic stats, plus it links to google analytics. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

Moonfruit Review Review by David Winterbourne, May 6, 2010

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

I am currently building a moonfruit website and I wanted to let you know that I am loving it! Its so easy, I reckon even my 8 year old son could do it. At the moment I am just using the free one but then that’s all I need. I honestly would recommend anyone to try it out.

Moonfruit Review Review by SamM, July 31, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I like the Moonfruit website builder BUT found the support very poor. Switching to WebEden now which uses the same website builder software but seems like it has top notch customer service. Makes all the difference!

Moonfruit Review Review by Tom Hopkins, May 25, 2011

  • 11111
  • 55555
  • 11111
  • 22222

The only good thing about Moonfruit is the amazingly designed software which is extremely easy to use.

However, their customer support is useless:
- only possible through email, and not phone.
- the customer service people fail to answer directly the questions asked.
- the customer service people can not write a response without spelling and grammatical errors.
- when they offer refunds it means a credit voucher for a new domain name and not a refund.
- they use ‘Gandi’ as their domain name provider for any domain names you may wish to purchase.
- Gandi use a complicated and time consuming process to change domain name provider (if you are switching from your old one) and consequently messed mine up to the extent that I lost my business address to another company during the time they were faffing about with the exchange process.

-Most importantly, I would NOT recommend this for any type of business that is likely to grow and be sold at a later date. The customer/user (ie you and me) owns the content of the site but Moonfruit own the layout of your site (regardless of how little it resembles the template you may have started with. Thereby, if you want later to sell your company, the rights of your site do not actually belong to you but to Moonfruit. If moonfruit go bust, you will not only lose your site but all your SEO and google rankings.

Moonfruit may appear good value from the onset but after the joining fee (which has gone up considerable in one year), there is also the domain name purchase and cost to keep the urls without all the numbers moonfruit insist on adding to the address.

My advice – rather spend the money and get a professional to do the job, there are enough of them out there.

Or, buy a webdesign programmme and do it yourself. Initially more expensive and time consuming than using the option of moonfruit, but in the end you will save time, energy and money. Best of all, the site would then fully belong to you should you wish to sell your business at a later date.

Moonfruit Review Review by Sarah Smith, May 27, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Terrible customer service … I am going to take SamM’s advice and change to WebEden. Moonfruit have pretty easy to learn software but the customer service people and lame. When they are not lame they are tricky.

My advice – steer clear of moonfruit.

Moonfruit Review Review by arkdebt, August 13, 2011

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 11111

Don’t bother! Moonfruit uses Flash to build sites and so if you don’t have Flash, you can only view the HTML version of your site – which looks a total mess! You have been warned.

Moonfruit Review Review by alexandro99007, August 16, 2011

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 22222

I strongly advise not to waist your time on this site. they dont even have a phone number, so if you get frustrated for some reason you cant do anything but only to send them email and wait for days for them to reply with a non-sense answer. I wish I hadn’t waited my time

Moonfruit Review Review by Terry Beckham, October 21, 2011

  • 11111
  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 11111

Spent a long time getting the site just the way I want it even though its a very basic site.
Bought a site name as suggested .
Pay for the pleasure of putting it all together …….. and it doesn’t work.
Pay for support that doesn’t reply despite a number of requests and complaints.
Save your time and money and DON’T BELIEVE THE HYPE…….

Moonfruit Review Review by Debbie, December 19, 2011

  • 22222
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 33333

While the system is easy to set and use, and the look of the website is clean and up to date, the functionality is lacking. They do not include simple tools like grouping elements (that stay grouped), no spell check (ouch!!) and no phone support. I’d keep looking….

Moonfruit Review Review by Aromamassein, January 19, 2012

  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 22222

the website builder is good, easy to use.. however the customer care and support is the worst ive ever had to deal with, no communication at all, days before you receive a response that is never relevant to the question anyway, i had a website with moonfruit for many years, but after trying to resolve a simple issue for months now, ive eventually given up and took my business elsewhere. im trying WebEden, due to other reviews. anything has to be better than moonfruits idea of customer care! id avoid them like the plague!!

Moonfruit Review Review by Tina Siuagan, January 26, 2012

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

I’ve tried other site builders there is on the internet. However, nothing can match the quality and simplicity of website building with moonfruit. It enables everyone to build his own site, whether for business or personal purposes, without the hassle of knowing programming or html. The templates encompass a wide variety of fields and interests which can accommodate the needs of health professionals, musicians, artists, students, store or small business owners, etc.

Isn’t it obvious that I love moonfruit so much. At the moment when I still don’t have enough money to afford a web designer’s professional services and buy myself a domain, moonfruit is a pretty good catch.

Nurse Tina highly recommends Moonfruit.

Moonfruit Review Review by Jo Berwick, February 13, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

My Moonfruit website was fantastic for a while, but for a good four weeks now the web pages jump about insanely when you scroll up or down. So though you might be scrolling up or down really smoothly, the page is jumping about all over the place, with the same image or bit of text whizzing up or down 3 or 4 times. Definitely not recommended until they sort out this enormous problem. They calmly say they are aware of it and it is with their “dev” department. How long will it be before they fix it? They can’t say, so you are left thinking it could be weeks or months …. or years!

Moonfruit Review Review by Alastair, February 20, 2012

  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 55555

I would love to give full marks to Moofruit as it is a great place to build a good website without too much effort. Unfortunately it doesn’t work with iphone/ipad/mobiles! Which is a bit rubbish considering so many people use them these days. Great if you want to just make a website for fun, not so good if you want people to see your website the way you intended!

Moonfruit Review Review by Austin, March 13, 2012

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 55555

I wish I could rate Moonfruit well as I’ve tried for the past year to really make their services work for me. I love the user friendly builder, features, and price.

However, there are concerns one should seriously consider before doing business with this company.

(1) There are often glitches in the builder and technical problems on their end. The development team will often not accept responsibility for problems and will never tell you when issues will be resolved. In regards to compatible issues with the builder and Mac, I was never given a straight forward explanation of when the “bugs” would be fixed or even if they were being worked on.

(2) The tech support staff is located in Europe and are unreasonably difficult to correspond with. On average it’s taken me at least five days to get a first response from anyone at Moonfruit regarding a tech support ticket. There is no phone support.

(3) The tech support staff is rude and most unprofessional. More often than not they haven’t been able to be helpful in explaining technical issues with me or my staff. It’s usually best to enter the forums and ask another user for help first, unless you love getting beat up with condescending back and forth emails with no resolution.

(4) Transferring sites. Once you use Moonfruit and purchase domains with them, they outsource to a hosting company called Gandi. You never receive login information to manage your domains and if you ever decide to leave you’ll have to ask Moonfruit to unlock the domain first and then you’ll have to contact Gandi to do the rest. I’ve heard horror stories about transferring hosts from other members on the forums and just start witnessing this for myself first hand. This issue alone is one big enough (to me) to stay clear.

I wish I had known these things before I started doing business with Moonfruit, that’s why I’m sharing them here. Negative reviews on companies feel tacky when I read them online so I try to not post these sort of comments but I feel the honesty of my situation might save a lot of stress and disappointment for someone else.

Good luck. A good host to consider is godaddy.com. I used them for years before I went to Moonfruit and I’m going back to them now. Their services are very affordable and the tech support is among the best. If reaching friendly support 24/7 via phone who won’t hang up until your situation has been resolved is important to you, check them out.

Moonfruit Review Review by Iain, March 27, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

Moonfruit seems good for a basic nicely set out website. But if you have ecommerce in mind, avoid them. The support is lacking (it takes a long time for them to respond and usually they haven’t understood the problem), goal tracking in Google Analytics isn’t supported (although they don’t tell you that when you sign up) and as it is a Flash based site, SEO is difficult.

Moonfruit Review Review by Alexandra ★, March 31, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Moonfruit is amazing, and by the end of 2012 all sites will be iphone/android compatible, html5 baybee =)

http://www.thegirlwithin.co.uk

Write a Review of Moonfruit Review

Overall Rating
Features
Support
Price