Overall Rating1.591.591.591.591.59
Features1.821.821.821.821.82
Support1.591.591.591.591.59
Price1.811.811.811.811.81
Visit Provider

logo_1and11&1 Review

1and1 is one of the biggest web hosting companies in the world, with a huge presence in the UK, Germany and the USA. The 1and1 website builder is used by small business owners everywhere to quickly build a website, without the need to hire a web designer. 1and1 give away lots of free extras with every package. Prices from £1.99/m

  • Print this article!
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • del.icio.us
  • FriendFeed
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • RSS

17 Customer Reviews of “1&1 Review”

1&1 Review Review by Francis, July 7, 2009

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 44444

Ok for the money

1&1 Review Review by David Samuels, July 14, 2009

  • 22222
  • 44444
  • 22222
  • 11111

I used 1and1 My Busines site and it certainly ain’t cheap! Still its pretty easy to use and my site looks good. I have added lots of bells and whistles – a feedback form, a forum and other stuff, which is cool. I don’t want to go on about it but it isn’t cheap when you look at the price of others here. Still once you’ve got a site with someone they’ve kind of got you! OK overall

1&1 Review Review by Marcus Brown, July 31, 2009

  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 22222

I used 1and1 to build a website with their MyBusiness Site pack and man it is good. Really easy to sign up and then you get access to loads of tools. Its not just a website but you can actually use it to market your site too, with email and stuff like that. Only draw back was the price which hurt me a bit.

1&1 Review Review by Peter Barn, October 2, 2009

  • 33333
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 22222

I used the 1&1 mybusiness website maker and truth be told its very very good. But at £10 per month its not cheap either! My website does look professional and you get lots of business tools too, such as the chance to get email addresses and also send visitors to your website. However probably good for business owners and no-one else just because of the price

1&1 Review Review by C Rhode, October 15, 2009

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

Awful! Without parrallel. Truly DIRE

Do not touch them. You may be lucky and not have a problem, but if (or when) you do, you will find them truly impossible to deal with. They bill you for things that they admit they are unable to prove you owe. They lock your account until you pay. When you pay, they cannot find the details. They don’t read emails, and reply to emails with questions that are already answered quite clearly in the email they have replied to.

If you like being tied up in knots and being unable to get to the bottom of the problem, if you have massive amounts of time to invest in endless and pointless correspondence, by all means waste your money, your time, and your life in dealing with these people.

If you have any sense, and few resources that you want to throw away, look elsewhere. The web is full of people describing how impossible this bunch of incompetents are to deal with.

1&1 Review Review by Roger Reed, October 20, 2009

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I was with this company for a number of years and what they provided wasn’t bad, until I used their E-Commerce package. The package itself wasn’nt too bad, but the support was poor. The main problem with 1 and 1 was that they charged extra for items that were not part of the package and not used. When approached about it they failed to respond or correct the problem. The site should have cost £9.99 per month but ended up at over £400 for ten months. The charges included an SSL certificate which was not requested nor attached a “Websitebuilder”, which was not needed or used and other items, which for the moment escape me. If you use these people, carefully check what you are paying for.

1&1 Review Review by STEVE, April 14, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

DON’T TOUCH
BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE
POOR MANEGMENT
DON’T ANSWER EMAILS AND CRASHED MY SITE 3 TIMES COSTING BIG

1&1 Review Review by Jackie, May 18, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I highly recommend that you DO NOT use this supplier. I signed on for their free trial of their business site in January 2010. 4 days later I cancelled my trial. They have been sending me invoices ever since. I sent them copies of all of the emails I had from them confirming that I had cancelled in January and they are still chasing me for payment. Now they are trying to say that I am locked into a contract within them until January 2011. I have written to the Observer money column about them and hoping they will follow this up. They are either completely incompetent or deliberately ripping people off – either way – I would avoid.

1&1 Review Review by George, June 25, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 22222

1 & 1 is the worst internet provider that I have used. I would advise that you use a moe better comapny like 123 reg or Go Daddy they provide better customer service then 1 & 1. Since I got a domain name from them I have yet to have a good experience with them.

1&1 Review Review by John, June 25, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I totally agree with all the comments that other users have left. If you do encounter a problem with then won’t get a lot of help from them. It is a nightmare to prove that you have been billed for something you haven’t used, and even when you do it is still hard to get out of it.

1&1 Review Review by David Johnston, July 28, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

WebsiteBuilder is awful, I struggle with it every time I come to use the dreadful thing but feel lumbered with it after having now created my website.

I find myself having to use every control twice for it to take effect. Selecting text doesn’t actually show you what the font or font size is. Repeated clicking can sometimes force the font to change but trying to select a specific size of font rather than one from the list has never worked for me.

By far the most frustrating part for me is attempting to imbed an image in the page. Uploading the image generally works but I find I have to select the image from the list a few times once it’s loaded before it actually appears on my web page. Even then it generally screws up the text around the image once it appears. On occasion it will refuse to actually upload the image.

I’m getting tired of continually quitting out of this application and reloading in the hope that I’ll be allowed to do what I actually want. If you don’t want to get stuck using this completely abysmal piece of software then please, I beg you, just don’t even start with it.

1&1 Review Review by Yasmin Lawley, August 20, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I had a site with them for 4 years, basically because I hadn’t researched and found anything better. I had problems with them taking unauthorised payments after free trials of their various services.

The sitebuilder itself is an absolute nightmare to use and get images in the right places.

Would not recommend. Have since moved my site to Create and I am really thrilled with them, especially their customer support.

1&1 Review Review by Peter C, June 4, 2011

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 44444

I tried the 1&1 site Builder before I moved onto PromoteMyPlace. It offers a huge range of templates but many of them are very, very similar so really that’s not a strong selling point. The biggest problem I found was the inflexibility of the system and the lack of anything other than basic features.

It didn’t work for me, but it is very cheap and for a simple site may be perfectly adequate.

1&1 Review Review by Matt, January 18, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I have a deidcated server with these idiots, It’s has been down for 4 days in a row and they offered to refund me one months charge £70, The support is in the USA and the server in Germany they email them when they have a problem and they take holiday in the USA they were off for Martin Luther King day this week support 24 x 7 except bank holidays no joke.

Avoid these morons like the plague they have no idea what they are doing

1&1 Review Review by Stretton Taborn, February 14, 2012

  • 22222
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 33333

In spite of receiving my notice of cancellation by post (”We ignore letters sent through the post”) and again by e-mail, both several months before the renewal date, my 1and1 account was renewed and my bank account debited. Although they finally accepted that they had received my e-mail, six attempts at reimbursement achieved nothing except an invitation to complain yet again!

Try 1and1 for an easy way to wave goodbye to your hard-earned cash!

1&1 Review Review by howard slinker, March 27, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • Not Rated

I signed up for their package after seeing their tv advert, and regretted it almost immediately, their interface for building webpages is inept, unlogical, and confusing. Not at all simple, and I found it very restrictive.

In the end to cut a long story short I tried to cancel the package and transfer the domain to somewhere else, this also turned out to be a nightmare and I had the misfortune of experiencing their customer service team, in a word, useless.

I complained to them but no no response, happily my domain has been transferred after I had to do all the arrangements, and they were no help at all.

I reccomend you avoid them at all costs

1&1 Review Review by katy mckelpin, April 16, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 33333

I hate 1 & 1 and am amazed it has gotten to the point of advertising on TV. I started buying domain names from them years ago while they were still across the pond somewhere outside of the US. In the beginning, years ago, it was impossible to get in touch with them by phone! The main problem was with buying domain names. Their registration at that time was by contract. (I think it still might be.) Therefore, it was difficult to look up your account unless you had a long contract number. That wasn’t the worse part. Because none of my domain names were actually listed under my name, there were separate contracts for each one or for each group, making it difficult to keep track of. Thus when it was time for renewal, if my credit card wasn’t updated, the acct was sent to a creditor! I’ve paid over $100 to the collection agency to which they sent my acct. All of this could be solved with their sign in! If a person is able to manage all their domains under one name, all of this confusion could be averted. Perhaps they’ve upgraded, but just be careful of keeping your contract numbers straight when purchasing multiple domain names from 1 & 1 or you might end up at a collection agency. (I never created a website with them, so I can’t comment on that function).

Write a Review of 1&1 Review

Overall Rating
Features
Support
Price